Studies at TTK

Study Regulations and Good Practices at TTK UAS

  • The academic year is divided into two semesters: fall semester (02.09.2018 – 27.01.2019) and spring semester (28.01.2019 – 02.06.2019).
  • All students are required to have a SIS (Study Information System) account.
  • All international students will have the status of International Visiting Students in the Curriculum of International Studies.
  • International Visiting Students are students who do not have permanent Estonian citizenship or long-term residence permit.
  • International Visiting Students are considered daily learners, meaning they must actively participate in study process according to timetable and study schedule.
  • 26 hours of work is compatible with 1 ECTS credit point, consisting of various study forms such as participating in lectures, seminars, independent work, group work, practical training, laboratory work etc.
  • The content of the subjects is described in the subject chart available in SIS (Study Information System), or is accessible form lecturer/responsible academic staff.
  • The programme and schedule of subjects will be coordinated by responsible academic staff.
  • The student is responsible of updating their contact information and personal data in the SIS account.
  • International Visiting Students will be registered to subjects according to their Learning Agreement. It is possible to change the Learning Agreement in the first two weeks of semester.
  • It is not possible to change the subjects in SIS without the confirmed Changes of Learning Agreement.
  • After the official end of semester, International Visiting Students will be issued the transcript of records. Confirmation of stay will be issued upon request.
  • The requirements concerning the content and results of academic work are equal to all students regardless to their form of study.
  • All students have a right to use the study environment and study materials of TTK UAS free of charge, including the gym and sports centre trainings.
  • All students have a right to turn to supportive staff for counselling concerning studies at TTK UAS.
  • All students have a right for consultations, according to consultation schedule determined by academic staff.
  • All students are requested to follow good academic conduct.
  • All students are requested to respect the deadlines and time schedules set by academic and supportive staff.
  • All students are to respect the grading scale of TTK UAS. Grading system: „5“ – excellent, „4“ – very good, „3“ – good, „2“ – satisfactory, „1“ – sufficient, „0“ – insufficient. The minimum passing grade is 1, in the Passed/Failed assessment it is Passed.
  • The student has a duty to keep up to his/her studies and in case of missing classes, contact the lecturer/teacher immediately.
  • In case of problems, please contact your coordinator and try to find solutions as soon as possible. It´s easier to solve problems in early stage 🙂 ! 

The grading scale of the TTK University of Applied Sciences:

5 Excellent – distinguished and especially profound knowledge of the subject both theoretically and practically, free and creative practical use of the results of the studied subject, comprehensive independent work, variety knowledge of the professional literature. The student has acquired 91-100% of the subject.

4 Very good – very good knowledge of the theoretical and practical part of the subject, very good ability to use the knowledge of the studied subject. The student has not demonstrated either principal or essential mistakes at the exam. The student has acquired 81-90% of the subject.

3 Good – good knowledge of the theoretical and practical content of the study course good knowledge of the use of the studied subject. But there have occurred some insecureness and inaccuracy at the exam. The student has acquired 71-80% of the subject.

2 Satisfactory – satisfactory knowledge of important theoretical and practical principles, facts and methods and the ability to use that knowledge in the typical situations, but there has occurred some insecurity and the student has made noticeable mistakes during the exam. The satisfactory mark is to be considered as sufficient to continue the study-process. The student has acquired 61-70% of the subject.

1 Sufficient – the student has acquired the minimum level of knowledge, and there are serious problems for the practical use of the knowledge, that may cause difficulties for acquiring the subject linked with this one. The student has acquired 51-60% of the subject.

0 Insufficient – the student has not acquired the knowledge on the minimum level of the subject. The student has acquired less than 50 % of the subject.

F – Fail

Passed – Pass

NP – Not Participated

Please note that there are two options of evaluation of the learning outcome: differential (graded) or non-differential (not graded). If the grading method in for the subject in TTK curriculum ‘International Studies’ is marked „PRELIM“ the results will not be graded, but assessed either „Passed“ or „Not Passed“ accordingly. If the grading method is „GRADE PRELIM“, the subject will be graded.

ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) was developed by the Commission of the European Communities in order to provide common procedures to guarantee academic recognition of studies abroad. It provides a way of measuring and comparing learning achievements and transferring them from one institution to another. This is achieved by the use if a common ECTS credit unit and a common ECTS credit scale. This system offers possibility to measure and transfer the credits that are given in different countries in different universities and universities of applied sciences (professional higher educational institutions). Therefore the European Credit Transfer System builds bridges between European institutions and widens the choices available to students. ECTS also improves access to information on foreign curricula.


  • Jaga: